After November

20131208_161806After referring to Thomas Hood and his ‘November’ poem – ‘No sun – no moon!’ etc – a few weeks ago I find myself wondering what he would have thought of December, and this December in particular. We may have had the gales that hurtled across the country on Thursday, causing damage particularly down the east coast but in other inland and coastal areas too (and not forgetting the north west extremities where they are a regular occurrence in winter) but much of the UK  enjoyed sunshine and mild days both prior and since this. The clear skies which accompanied these pleasantries presented us not only with sharp views of a sliver of the moon at night, but fascinating cloud formations and beautiful colours at sunrise and sunset – the above view was captured on my way home at about 4.15 this afternoon. However we feel about snow and icy mornings it perhaps does not seem quite the done thing to be experiencing days like this in the lead up to Christmas!

caterpillarOther than my morning ramble I have not been able to spend time in the garden today, but I did observe what I hope was not a very hungry caterpillar on Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ and also a few brown buds – were they affected by frost? or wind? There are a number of other buds showing a hint of pink, but as the plant arrived here early this year there has not yet been a full show of flower; it is planted in a very large pot and as far as I know the compost has never dried out or got waterlogged, so I trust it is still in full health.

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, container & basket plants, Gardening, Gardens, Poetry, Weather, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to After November

  1. rusty duck says:

    My viburnum has been frosted unfortunately, it still looks OK from a distance but the flowers would not stand up to close scrutiny.
    The caterpillar does look quite peckish..

  2. Christina says:

    I hope you removed the caterpillar! I think he looks very hungry!

  3. Pauline says:

    What did you do with the caterpillar, did you leave it, it looks like it might be the caterpillar of the Brimstone butterfly, if it is then it is very precious! Super sunset!

    • Cathy says:

      I did leave it Pauline and it was gone today, leaving an unscathed viburnum bud! It was only a tiny caterpillar – could it really be of a Brimstone, and if so what was it doing hanging around in December?

  4. Chloris says:

    I think the sunsets are the best thing about this gloomy time of the year. We have had some wonderful ones lately. I think Thomas Hood’s poem describes December better than November but it doesn’t fit the verse so well.
    Chloris

    • Cathy says:

      I wonder if they are seasonal? I suppose we don’t always have blue skies and sunshine in December to create such beauties. Thanks for dropping in, Chloris.

Something to say after reading this?

