The Stripper

IMG_0769Having got back home on Wednesday evening we were fortunate not to have been travelling in yesterday’s wind, which seemed to hit all the UK in varying degrees. Our garden is fairly sheltered and although we had very strong gusts during the morning the wind’s strength will have been nothing like that seen in many other parts of the country and which caused disruption, damage and flooding. It did, however,Β  strip all the beautiful leaves from next door’s beech tree and most of the flimsy field maple leaves and those on the wild plums – and the parottia too, before any real colour change could take hold. The direction of the wind very much affected where the leaves ended up – from the house we could see a thick layer of mixed leaves spread over the Tai Chi grass, the paved area and the species snowdrop border (below, top), whilst that part of the garden on a north-south axis looked neat and tidy, with leaves swept neatly into the corners (below, bottom):

IMG_0767leaf.clearBefore we left for our Anglesey trip I had pencilled a reminder for our return – to make a ‘map’ of the species snowdrop border so it would be easier to observe what was coming up and where. Having drawn a plan roughly to scale I began to brush the leaves off the border (in front of the white picket fence above) and plot the snowdrops’ positions, eventually having to refer to the list of what there should be. In the end I removed as many of the leaves as possible but still it was hard to find them all; fortunately they are all planted in ‘pond planter’ baskets so even if they have lost a label there is now other evidence. There are some ‘unknowns’ from when this wasn’t the case which hopefully can be identified when they flower and may be ones presumed lost and since replaced. Barely half the snowdrops flowered this year (and those that did flower did so poorly), some because they were too new and some because they had been disturbed the previous year, so I am hoping for better things in 2014 and knowing exactly where to find them all I feel better prepared!

snowdrop.planPerhaps it also makes it clearer to see where there is a space for any new ones……

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, The Seasons, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Stripper

  1. Anna says:

    You must be relieved that you travelled home on Tuesday. Love the snowdrop map Cathy – some familiar friends therein. Maybe we can pick each other’s brains about our unknowns in a few weeks time πŸ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      Weds, not Tues – but yes, travelling in bad weather is never fun. I am so pleased I did the map Anna – already it makes it much easier when I having a poke around to see what is happening, and it also ensured I had new and unbreakable labels for all of them! Fortunately I had a list of all the ones I have bought, so I kept looking till I could tick them all off – and the ones without a label will be ones from the list so that will help identify them. I was able to establish what type of leaves they had after reading the Waldorf snowdrop book. Hopefully we can identify some of yours too – do you have ‘a list’?

  2. rusty duck says:

    New ones? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Pauline says:

    Glad you reached home safely Cathy, even if it was to face a mountain of leaves. Sweeping is almost a daily occurrence, as soon as your back is turned, down they come again. All the oaks are hanging onto their leaves still, it is usually Christmas before they finally float down.
    Lots of familiar names amongst your snowdrops, it won’t be long now before we are getting our daily fix from them!

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Pauline. Interesting about the oaks – after reading your comments I noticed some we passed today and they have still got their leaves too, albeit brown and dry. I noticed snowdrop spikes in the woodland edge border today too, so generally I think they are much earlier than ‘last’ year

  4. Annette says:

    Olalala, looks like you’re in for some serious raking! I spent over an hour raking and gathering leaves in our garden this morning, but it’s rather meditative, isnt’ it? A lot went on the compost, the rest into the wilderness which is never far. πŸ˜‰

    • Cathy says:

      It was more bundling than raking, Annette! I am collecting more for leaf mould this year, after having been reminded just what lovely stuff it is!

  5. Annette says:

    Ups, forgot something: I’m very impressed how well you’re organised with your map and look forward to seeing all these special snowdrops πŸ™‚

    • Cathy says:

      I should have done a map like this much earlier – even just rooting around trying to find all the ones on my list was a useful exercise, but one which won’t need to be repeated. I am hoping for a better year with them – after having split some to sell a couple of years ago I don’t want to disrupt them again.

  6. croftgarden says:

    I do like the bare bones of the trees against the sky.
    Impressive collection of snowdrops and rooms for lots more!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, I too like to see the skeletal structure of trees. Oh, and thank you for suggesting that I could have some more snowdrops – I’m sure I will be able to oblige πŸ˜‰

Something to say after reading this?

