In a Vase on Monday: a Bit of a Cheat!

IMG_0686A bit of a cheat inasmuch  as the vase contains the recycled stems of Cornus ‘Midwinter Fire’, the rose hips, and seedpods of Rudbeckia fulgens and crocosmia from last week, together with pickings made yesterday as we are not at home for a couple of days. I have used a slightly bigger stoneware pot this week and included ivy, the scalloped leaves of  Hart’s tongue fern and black spears of Ophiopogon, giving a fresh and earthy update to the vase. If we had been at home I would have taken advantage of the flowers on the ‘Pink Perpetué’ that brightens up the approach to our front door, but didn’t like to think of them sitting all alone while we were away; hopefully next Monday I shall be including flowers again as well as foliage.

If you would like to find things in your garden or elsewhere and place them in a vase or similar on a Monday and post a picture on your blog, then feel free to also post a link in a comment on this post, so we too can see what you have found. I am enjoying the challenge myself!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In a Vase on Monday: a Bit of a Cheat!

  1. Pingback: The long view and a vase of flowers | Creating my own garden of the Hesperides

  2. croftgarden says:

    I think I like this one more than last weeks. Do you do mail order?
    Tried hard to join in, but defeated by the weather again!

    • Cathy says:

      I wonder what bits you liked better, Christine? I liked the way this small leaved ivy curled at an angle. How about primroses (with roots of course) in damp moss, perhaps?

      • croftgarden says:

        I particularly liked the contrast of the black and green. Overall it was a more balanced arrangement, the broader pot worked perfectly.
        The primroses are rather wind blasted, but I might just pot up a few small plants – they should flower for Christmas and make nice wee gifts.

  3. Pingback: A Vase On Monday | Peonies & Posies

  4. Julie says:

    Hi Cathy – I hope you are having a nice break. I really like the recycling idea – particularly at this time of the year! I will be very jealous if you have flowers next week – I think I am completely out of flowers for a few weeks. Great arrangement – hopefully it should last to welcome you home.

    Mine can be found at http://www.peoniesandposies.com.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Julie – I promise I will find something for next week, but don’t know what yet! Enjoying the break, one garden visited today and another tomorrow – not quite the same in December though!

  5. Lyn says:

    No such thing as cheating – just recycling!

  6. Anna says:

    Not cheating but recycling which is what all good gardeners should do 🙂 Hope that you are enjoying your break Cathy wherever you are.

Something to say after reading this?

