Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Spicks and Specks

GBBD.Nov13.good.doersNovember is becoming decidedly cooler, with some daytime sunshine and blue skies meaning temperatures dip overnight to freezing or just below and the start of scraping car windows in the mornings. There are, however, still odd spicks and specks of colour in the garden to highlight on this month’s Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, kindly hosted by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Pop over to her blog to find links to other gardening blogs which are featuring their November blooms today.

The above picture shows four long-flowering stalwarts, some of which will have featured many times over the last few months. Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ (bottom right) has been admired by many people and quite rightly so as its foliage is superb and sets the almost insignificant little white flowers off to an advantage – its rampant behaviour this year can be overlooked because it has been such a stunning feature. Next to it is continuous flowering rambler ‘Rural England’, still flowering and rambling, and with flowers that seem to be unaffected by the weather unlike ‘Blush Noisette’ which is still flowering but readily bedraggled. Campanula poscharskyana ‘Lisduggan’ (top left) is also still going strong in the rockery, but I don’t think I have shown the large flowered bacopa (top right) in any previous post. This is in a pot by the blue & white border and just got bigger and better as the season progressed, showing no sign of wanting to give up. I think these large flowered bacopas were newly available this year and are certainly to be recommended if this example is anything to go by – I assume it is still a half hardy annual, but I will check that out as at the moment it looks as if it would survive a winter, although presumably under cover.

Geraniums tend to throw up odd flowers off and on throughout the season, and I was pleased to see a solitary bloom on G sanguineum striatum today, as well as blooms on G thurstonianum and G phaeum ‘Samobar’:

GBBD.Nov13.geraniumsSome of the astrantias have been equally been dependable, with lots of blooms still on A ‘Buckland’ and the belated first bloom on a new A ‘Shaggy’ plant. Having lost labels from various astrantia  over the years I want to build up some more named varieties again next year.

GBBD.Nov13.astrantiaHydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’ has repaid its move to the hedge border by producing a number of its sometimes almost luminous green mop heads that seem to change to white and then back again, making a statement at every stage. When photographing an example today I was pleased to see that behind it there were buds on …… I was just going to say Viburnum tinus but have suddenly realised that they are actually on the white camellia which was another of the new additions to that border when the D****’s P**** was removed. That’s even more exciting – but it is too dark now to check the label and remind myself what variety it is!

GBBD.Nov13.annabelleIMG_0523IMG_0525Clematis ‘John Howell’ is another ‘good do-er’, still sporting several flowers, and the late bargains in baskets on the hot border walls are repaying the few pennies spent, with salvia, thunbergia and bidens (the latter from RHS seeds) still making an effort, with a bit of help from Crocosmia ‘Constance’ and Rudbeckia fulgida in the bed below. There’s always something to enjoy on my rambles and I trust there is in your gardens too.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials, rockery, roses. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: Spicks and Specks

  1. Christina says:

    Lots of blooms, Cathy. Certainly worth a ramble in your garden. I’m envious that you can grow Persicaria ‘Red Dragon’ , I’ve been admiring it on lots of blogs. (think its botton right not left BTW.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for alerting me to the mistake – it’s been rectified. Yes ‘Red Dragon’ has been a real star – worth looking out for, or are you suggesting it wouldn’t like your climate?

  2. Lea says:

    You have some very pretty blooms for November!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!
    Lea

  3. Holleygarden says:

    Red Dragon really is stunning! Annabelle is gorgeous, too. And you have blooms to come! Anticipation is always fun to see in the garden!

  4. Pauline says:

    I too am envious of your Red Dragon, mine has struggled just to survive this year, it has been very disappointing. You have a good selections of flowers for November, I had to really search for mine this month.

    • Cathy says:

      I don’t know what got into Red Dragon – he was definitely well fired up this year! And my blooms really are only spicks and specks – just odd ones and twos!

  5. Annette says:

    Delightful, your collection! Geranium phaeum usually doesn’t flower that late or is it the variety? Very nice colour. Your dragon is on my list – just have to find a suitable place for it. Got myself a Camellia sasanqua Versicolor and I’m thrilled to bits because I’ve been dreaming about it for a while and there it was in the polytunnel of my nursery, looking up at me…that’s what I call fate ;). Have a nice weekend!

    • Cathy says:

      Your camellia was definitely meant to be by the sound of it – mine is C japonica nobilissima, by the way. There have been odd flowers on this G phaem throughout the year I suppose – did I chop it back at all? Don’t think so. Have a restful (?) weekend yourself – how’s the book going?!

  6. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Everyone seems to have that Persicaria… Looks like I ought to join the club some time!
    The weather here has been odd, with November so far being much nicer than October was. Even if it is a little cooler – not today though; it’s lovely outside – in general it’s been much drier and sunnier and I may be able to get some tidying done if the ground is dry enough.

    I’ve never had Samobor blooming this late in the year; none of the Macrorrhizums seem to have a second flush, but I have had Thurstonianum this late.

    • Cathy says:

      One of the reasons I like geraniums so much is their ability to throw up flowers at almost any time – and I do particularly like Samobar, well, the phaeums generally. I think you are right about November, as I certainly seem to have been able to get more of those little jobs done this month although we have had more rain too.

  7. Anna says:

    Enjoyed your November blooms Cathy. Pauline and Liz have taken the words out of my mouth regarding the behaviour of your geranium phaeum 🙂 Did you give it a haircut at some point? The astrantias deserve a medal for length of flowering time.

    • Cathy says:

      I am sure I haven’t chopped the phaeums, Anna, although may have snipped the odd clump of dead heads occasionally. I tend not to do any pruningat all in the woodland edge border – one of the reasons why I like it so much!! Definitely more astrantias needed (well, wanted)!!

  8. rusty duck says:

    Love the Persicaria. The variety I bought at the end of the summer has already doubled in size. But Red Dragon is even nicer. A must have for next year.

    • Cathy says:

      I bought ‘Firetail’ last year after having seen it at Cambo – but it’s not a patch on Red Dragon either. I can certainly recommend the dragon.

  9. Helene says:

    Hi, I found you through GBBD, lots of nice bloomers in your November garden, down here in London we haven’t had any frost yet but this coming week we might get the first taste of it. Loved your Persicaria, haven’t got that in my garden, and your clematis is beautiful, looks a bit like my ‘Gravetye Beauty’. Happy GBBD!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Helene – thanks for popping in. I see what you mean about the clematis, but perhaps the picture was a little deceptive as it is actually a large(ish) flowered clematis but the bud wasn’t fully open. Hope to see you again.

  10. Pingback: When You’re Smilin’…. | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

