Monochrome

IMG_0503Following a recent post on Sue’s blog, From Sewing Room to Potting Shed, I was determined to try and resurrect the routine I once had of picking a little bunch of something from the garden every Monday – it was when this and my daily pre-work ramble went out of the window I realised that Work was taking up too much of my life. That’s all in the past though and I can ramble in the garden to my heart’s content now!

When I came to pick my little bunch of something today although there is still colour in the garden there was little of any great substance – unless I cut the last few flowers from Clematis ‘John Howells’ or the couple of now bedraggled Bishop of Llandaff’. A few flowers from  the Blush Noisette or Rural England roses could have been spared but I find they don’t last long when they are cut and are therefore better staying on the plants. The dependable Astrantia ‘Buckland’ and the seedheads of Rudbeckia fulgida combined to save the day to make a little monochrome posy, but next week’s offering may only be foliage – or maybe not.

This entry was posted in Being Creative, Gardening, Gardens, In a Vase on Monday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Monochrome

  1. Anna says:

    What a lovely custom to start the week off with Cathy. This not working lark has a lot to recommend it doesn’t it? 🙂

  2. Christina says:

    That’s a nice habit to get into, I hope you’ll share with us.

  3. sueturner31 says:

    Anything is better than an empty vase… 🙂

  4. Caro says:

    I can’t wait to retire! So looking forward to being able to spend more time in the garden! Love the idea of a regular little garden posy – I almost picked a few lavender flowers (yep, just about still got those!) and maybe a few nasturtiums (tons of those) the other week and I love mixing them in with herb leaves like rosemary, mint, tarragon – smells heavenly. You should start a Monday bouquet theme!

  5. Lyn says:

    I have tried a few times to start the habit of picking something from the garden for the house once a week, but always at some point I forget or can’t be bothered, and stop. I do like your black and white posy.

  6. Holleygarden says:

    That’s a wonderful idea of picking something from the garden one day a week. I may adopt that! Love your little posy. I bet it becomes quite challenging during some parts of the year.

    • Cathy says:

      I used to manage it before in some way or another – it became a challenge – and now I have mentioned it on the blog that may be the incentive I need to get going again!

  7. I like that idea a lot. I may try that some time. Blessings, Natalie

  8. Annette says:

    And what do you do if work is taking too much of your life?

  9. As others have said, an excellent habit, glad you have picked it up again. Am struggling enough with my own balancing act between outdoor play and indoor work to stop me from saying I will do likewise though…

  10. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Black and White and Red All Over | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

