Curious Corners and Forgotten Follies

IMG_0371I realised when preparing my End of Month View yesterday that not only do I focus on the same views each month (by design) but that by doing this there are some areas which tend not to be photographed at all and which often get omitted from my rambles as well. Some of them are perhaps designed to tease, like this path in the woodland edge border leading to a gate that goes nowhere, but the path is currently obstructed by fern and hellebore seedlings and requires a bit of maintenance – or does it?

Definitely needing some maintenance is this bed of ivy at the back of the compost enclosure, just by the entrance to the herbaceous borders. Drowning in the green river of ivy is our white lady, rather like Ophelia amongst her weedy trophies – a trim is definitely required here! And would you believe the tree behind it is a parottia, never mentioned before on this blog and whose existence is often, to my shame, forgotten? It is so clearly the wrong location for it, and this having been its home since the same time as the amelanchier arrived in the circle I fear any attempt to give it a better home would be doomed to failure.

IMG_0368

IMG_0369Gathering up my piles of leaves today I inspected the wire leaf cage tucked away in the corner of the woodland and not noticed from one year to the next, and found that under the top layer of dry leaves there was a nice thick layer of yummy leaf mould, circa 2011 probably. The different layers can be clearly seen in the picture.  That will do nicely! A dry day will see me upturning the cage and redistributing the lower half of the contents onto deserving borders.

Also easily neglected are two features just at the back of the house, the rockery which was completely replanted in February with this Campanula poscharskyana ‘Lisduggan’ which has quietly outperformed its neighbours by never being out of flower since early summer, and the old stone sink, this one replanted in May and apart from the loss of a saxifrage looking quite happy:

curious.corners

Also often forgotten is the area at the back of the clematis colonnade that I mentioned yesterday, a thin shaped bed that bordered the edge of a path around a larger curved bed which was dug out when the area was revamped at the beginning of last year. Once the colonnade was completed I decided that this border could probably stay put and it has provided some extra colour with heuchera, crocus and geranium but still needs that bit of extra brickwork and some more pals. The area on the right is at the side of the lychgate and hosts some cyclamen and fritillaries but could do with some extra spring bulbs, or perhaps some overspill primroses and wood anemones from the adjacent woodland – a little job to remember come early spring!

curious.corners.2I am very fond of all these curious corners of the garden – just a shame that I often overlook them on my rambles!

This entry was posted in Art, garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, projects, rockery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Curious Corners and Forgotten Follies

  1. Pauline says:

    I like forgotten little corners for the wildlife to enjoy undisturbed. These places have piles of leaves left in place, or a few logs stacked up for things to hide in. Our official leaf mould pile is growing rapidly as every few days more is added to it. We must get the piles for the last two years spread around soon, ready to set all the snowdrops off once more, it won’t be long now!

    • Cathy says:

      Exciting times, Pauline!! It sometimes seems a bit of a cop out piling up leaves or old logs rather than being more pro-active with them, but what great results for the garden and wildlife.

  2. croftgarden says:

    It is the forgotten corners that often reveal their treasures when you least expect it. Sometimes it may be a patch of docks or a sleeping frogs. I’m told that frogs can turn in princes but in my case they jump off and leave me with the weeds!

  3. You’ve got me thinking….I’ve no wee curious corners – it would be nice to have something pretty when I least expect it. Thinking cap on now – thanks for the idea 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      It’s surprising what you can come up with when you walk round the garden with a different hat on – or in a different direction. Look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  4. rusty duck says:

    Note to self – must get on with building leaf bin. i could probably fill it already!

    • Cathy says:

      It makes dealing with leaves much quicker – although we still have to deal with most of our leaves in other ways, and you would need a mammoth one to cope with all your trees!

  5. Annette says:

    Thanks for sharing your forgotten corners 😉 – how could you forget to mention the Parottia? No autumn colour yet whereas mine has started to turn gold and red weeks ago…leaves are falling now.

    • Cathy says:

      If mine had ever turned red and gold I am sure I would have noticed it and mentioned it – but it hasn’t so I haven’t! I wonder if I could find another spot – and if I could dig it up without damaging the roots….?

      • Annette says:

        I was wondering about that too – maybe it’s not in the right spot? When did you plant it? I’m slowly turning into a “dare devil” and have just replanted a tree here which didn’t “sit” in the right spot.

        • Cathy says:

          it may be about 10 years ago now, Annette, but it’s right up against a wall and under the shade of a hazel – I too am willing to move things from the ‘wrong’ spot, but I still need an alternative….

  6. Anna says:

    I think that corners often get overlooked in the garden as they do when it comes to housework. Nice to peek into yours Cathy. We stopped using a leaf mould cage in favour of black bin bags but maybe time to revert. I’m sure that they rot down quicker in a cage.

  7. Caro says:

    Hi, I popped over after clicking a link in Sara/Hillwards blog – so pleased I did as I’ve loved reading about your garden! What a wonderful space you’ve created! Your garden map was hugely helpful in visualising all these little corners and I’ve now signed up for email reminders – I’m an urban gardener with a very small plot so this blog is a visual treat, thank you!

    • Cathy says:

      Oh thanks Caro – what kind comments.There are so many garden blogs out there it is hard to know who to follow, so thank you for choosing mine. I do try and write every day so I hope you don’t get fed up with me because of that! I will pop over and have a look at your plot too – every type of garden has its attractions and we can all learn from each other, whatever the size of our plot

  8. Christina says:

    Thank you for sharing your forgotten areas. It is easy to leave out certain areas when writing not because they don’t perform but sometimes because they are too reliable and so we lose interest?

  9. Pingback: Contemplating Corners | Rambling in the Garden

Something to say after reading this?

