Fruit Loot

IMG_0268I knew while we were away that picking the rest of our apples ought to be a priority when we got back, particularly being reminded every day when looking out of the window and seeing the laden trees in the gardens below. Our cookers do tend to survive on the tree until picked but there comes a point when they can’t hang on any longer – I therefore made a small start today, picking those that could be reached with the ordinary step ladder which unfortunately is only a very small proportion of the crop! This is the one crop I never weigh before dealing with them , as we have never had a year when we haven’t had enough! I shall cook and purée (then freeze) some of these without removing skin or core, which saves time and effort, and blanch/freeze the rest. There is mincemeat to be made, and I shall try and give some away – apples, anyone?

Quite a few of the tomatoes I had stripped from the greenhouse before we went away had ripened in our absence and are now skinned and ready to be frozen and today there were good pickings to be had from the raspberries (Autum Bliss and Autumn Treasure) along with a lonely blackberry and a surprise offering of alpine strawberries. These periodically pop up in odd places in the garden, this time conveniently in the fruit cage, running along the fence under the blackberries. An inspection of the courgette and squash plants produced the usual marrow from now sad looking plants and a decision to pick the harvestable size squash before any slugs took a fancy to them. I shall certainly grow these again next year – on second thoughts, let’s taste them first!

fruitloot

This entry was posted in fruit, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fruit Loot

  1. Annette says:

    Oh yes, please and would you mind to deliver them personally? I’ll offer you a piece of my quince tarte. Does that tempt you? No laden apple trees for me this year as our trees are having a break after the bumber crop last year. My raspberries have struggled all year, so they’ll get lots of manure soon and hopefully will do better next year. These are all my confessions for now. 😉

    • Cathy says:

      An exchange would be lovely – if we could meet up somewhere a bit nearer…. 😉 Our apple trees never seem to have a break, although they did have a bit of a rest a couple of years ago after a heavy pruning, but still provided more than we could cope with. My raspberries were new last year and are being ‘double cropped’, so I have been picking regularly since early July – can’t be bad.

  2. Anna B says:

    I love the cool looking squashes! I’ve grown some similar ones but have only eaten one, I like looking at them too much!! Cool to hear about your apples too, as you know I’m a big fan 🙂

  3. sue turner says:

    have you ever froze your tomatos whole with skin on. I have and when they thaw the skins slip off easy……we are also enjoying a bumper apple crop.

  4. Christina says:

    Oh how I wish I could say YES to your offer of cooking apples. The type sold here are not a patch on the wonderful cooking apples grown in England. ENJOY!

Something to say after reading this?

