Where the Heart Is

IMG_0244Back home, and a quick ramble round the garden was of course a priority after the kettle had been put on, my spiritual core instantly refreshed by the the ramble far more than the cup of tea could ever refresh my physical body. Aaaah, lovely……

What is different from when I last rambled? There has been half an inch of rain for a start, something the garden has not seen for over a month, and even before I went IMG_0249out of the back door I could see that leaves were rapidly abandoning the viburnum, revealing in their place many promising pink buds.

IMG_0246The greenhouse, home at the moment to the ripening orange and long red peppers but now no other produce, has also been nurturing the aquilegia seedlings some of which are already showing their first true leaves. The germination rate has been as good as I could have hoped for, giving them perhaps at least a month to build up their size and stature before colder weather becomes the norm. I seem to recall that Carrie Thomas at Touchwood Aquilegias where the seed has come from will sometimes prick hers out even at this tiny stage – not sure that I will!

There were several other sights to please my eyes and my heart, but I shall hold on to those for the monthly Blooms Day tomorrow.

 

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, greenhouse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Where the Heart Is

  1. Christina says:

    I think all gardenerscan relate to walking around the garden before even taking off one’s cot aafter a time away.

  2. Pauline says:

    Yes, the garden comes first when you have been away, it’s amazing how things change in just a few days.

  3. bridget says:

    Nice to see next years seedlings up and thriving.

  4. Very nice post. I fully undertood the part about your spiritual core being more refreshed by your ramble than by anything else. It’s the same for me. Blessings, Natalie

  5. Lovely to walk around the garden…

  6. It’s a special thing, reaquainting oneself with the garden after an absence, that mix of excitement, anticipation, nervousness. Lovely little aquilegia seedlings, I have yet to see signs of germination from any of my recently sown seeds but most of them need a few sessions of cold weather first.

    • Cathy says:

      I knew there had been a lot of rain in our absence, so I was expecting more signs of autumn and leaf fall – it smelled so green too, lovely! I was surprised how quickly all these seeds germinated – the nurturing will be the harder part!

  7. sueturner31 says:

    I quite agree…I say to my hubby..right just going down the garden…and he knows full well I’ll be a hour at least.

  8. Annette says:

    That’s always the first thing I do too, even when we arrive during the night I get the torch and go for a quick ramble, saying hello to my darling plants 😉

    • Cathy says:

      When I was working I always used to walk round the garden before I went out in the morning but there came a point when that didn’t happen any more – when I realised this I knew there was something wrong with my priorities…

  9. Anna says:

    Oh know how you feel Cathy. I got back home yesterday afternoon after visiting my mum for a few days and like you headed straight out to garden and greenhouse after pausing to kiss himself. You must be chuffed to see all those little aquilegia seedlings. Your temporary Edinburgh residence looked most grand – what glorious walled gardens.

Something to say after reading this?

