Second Chances

2nd.chanceThe nibbled ‘Procyon’ dahlia that featured rather sadly last week has been joined by the sudden opening over the mild weekend of a second bud, currently perfect in its entirety – the comparative picture is rather deceptive, as this flower is about two thirds of the original size of the first one, the mother plant possibly running out of steam already? Also taking me by surprise is a fully open flower on Dahlia ‘Orange Nugget’ in the right hand hot border – its first bud appeared in August, but was nibbled before it could open. Again the picture is deceptive as the flower is smaller than its two-toned cousin – classed as a ‘decorative’ dahlia I believe, but aren’t they all?!

More second chances are evident in the roses, with the lead effect pot on the paved area resplendent again with a lovely flush of  ‘Munstead Wood’, still accompanied by geraniums (pelargoniums , I mean) of the same colour (could I overwinter these, can you tell me?), ‘Zépherine Drouhin’ in the rose garden itself (with ‘Blush Noisette’ against the fences in the background) and ‘Pink Perpetué’ outside the front door. All very lovely:

IMG_0161flush2

This entry was posted in bulbs, corms and tubers, Gardening, Gardens, roses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Second Chances

  1. Christina says:

    You should be able to overwinter the geraniums in the greenhouse. Just make sure to keep them very very dry. Here people put them in cellars, atics etc. You can then take cuttings from the new growth in spring.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks so much Christina – I don’t generally like pelargoniums very much but these ivy leaf (I think that’s what they are) ones are quite nice and these were a perfect match for Munstead Wood. I shall try this and the suggestions Angie and Annette have made too.

  2. Annette says:

    I am very pleased with Munstead Wood this year, such a beauty. As for the Pelargonium (?) it may be best to take cuttings as you probably don’t want to overwinter the rose indoors, or you dig them up.

    • Cathy says:

      I shall take them out of the pot, Annette, and deal with them the way all of my blogging friends have suggested – thank you! Oh, and the second flush on M.Wood was better than the first!

  3. I attempted to bring a pelargonium through winter for the first time last year. Having done a bit of research on web – the recommended ways were indoors, kept dry (as above), rooting cuttings from stems starting in August and rooting stems in water on a windowsill. Since I had a decent sized plant – I tried all three. The parent plant was kept indoors and dry all winter but didn’t come through (although I suspect that was probably central heating related), cuttings did not root and out of 4 stems in a glass of water sitting on the windowsill (water replaced frequently) – 2 stems produced roots and were potted up in spring. One died and one has survived to be a decent sized plant this summer.
    I’m not bothering with taking cuttings this year but will hopefully manage to root some in water and will keep the parent plant somewhere a bit cooler this year. I rambled on there a bit, apologies 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Ramble away Angie, that’s fine! I really appreciate hearing your experience with pelargoniums and I shall try all 3 methods. If I don’t have any success I shall definitely buy some similar plants next year. Will be up near you on Weds!

  4. Fabulous dahlias and roses…I love dahlias but they do not grow well here.

  5. Anna says:

    ‘Orange Nugget’ looks a most warm cheerful colour Cathy. My ‘Blush Noisette’ has one or two flowers in bloom with the promise of more to come weather permitting.

    • Cathy says:

      How big is your Blush Noisette, Anna? Mine were new in last year, but hold great promise for covering the fences rond the garden within a few years

  6. croftgarden says:

    I’m still ambivalent about Dahlias. Total disaster in pots even in a sheltered corner. I think they produced flowers in sheer desperation. Now drying out and waiting the verdict as to whether they get a second chance.

    • Cathy says:

      I am not convinced they are likely to earn their keep here either, Christine, so perhaps I should look out for other alternatives for late summer/early Autumn colour

Something to say after reading this?

