Going, Going, Gone…..

goingThe pleasant weather over the weekend after a couple of what felt like damp days (but in reality produced very little rain) brought the Golfer out and up the ladder again to continue the Great Plum Tree Lop. After tying rope round the next trunk to be attacked, the ladder was moved to the other side of the tree before sawing began, the Golfer drawing on his structural engineering background to know exactly where to cut and where the tree would fall (OK, there was the rib incident). A lot of shredding and sawing at ground level is now required before it is the turn of the tallest plum, so certainly not before we go away.

IMG_0151I have had little time available myself for the garden today, but was able to more easily  inspect the other co-habitants of the greenhouse now the tomato plants have all been removed – several mini seed trays of aquilegia seeds, bought in a burst of excitement from Touchwood Aquilegias. I took the decision to sow the seeds immediately and am pleased to say that almost all the trays exhibit evidence of germination, from one or two seedlings in some cases to a good sprinkling like the tray shown above.

Elsewhere in the garden there are still surprises to be seen on my rambles, such as the very belated flowering of this convolvulus, looking like a pleated silk lampshade here with the sunlight filtering through the flimsy petals, and the equally silky appearance of these ‘Navy Blue’ sweet peas, like hankies draped over tiny mystery objects:

blue.silk

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Going, Going, Gone…..

  1. Cathy you must live in one of the driest parts of the UK, love the bluey purpley flowers, I have just sown some more seeds, the ones I sowed in early August are making nice little plants now, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      Glad your seeds are doing well. I have tried to establish what the average annual rainfall for our postcode is – on a generalised map it is about 750mm or less but I haven’t found a specific average yet. I have begun recording the monthly rainfall as measured by our own weather station, but it’s hard to know how reliable that is.

  2. Helen says:

    I am realising from other blogs that we have been lucky with the amount for rain we have had over the last week. I have just sown some aquilegia seeds, I hope they germinate quickly

    • Cathy says:

      More spam….grrr. Lucky in the dryness, or the wetness?! We have definitely avoided real rain here but there is moisture in the soil and growing conditions have been good with the accompanying mildness – all due to change soon, I think. There was some germination of aquilegia almost instantly, and within 3 or 4 weeks every tray (14…shhh) has seedlings. Hope I can nurture them over winter.

  3. Annette says:

    With all that firewood coming you should consider a stove, Cathy. 😉 The Convolvulus never fails to amaze me – such a blue and the light! Not sure whether I’ll sow my Aquilegias in situ or in pots…

    • Cathy says:

      We could add a chimney, Annette, so maybe in the longer term…. The Golfer, being scrawny, feels the cold very easily and does need more of an instant heat so we do have a very realistic woodburning-effect gas stove – not the same, I know 😉

  4. Pauline says:

    Will you be using your shreddings for a mulch or will they go into your compost? Your blue convolvulous is beautiful with the sun shining through, like a stained glass window.

    • Cathy says:

      It will be a bit of both with the shreddings, Pauline, as there is so much. I am very glad that we decided to get a new shredder – and the Golfer has sharpened the blades this w/e, which was easily done. The convolvulus germinates so easily, but I think has suffered like many other of my seeds from not being pricked out early enough.

  5. Poor ribs – excellent to have completed the Great Lop though. I really must get my winter sowing started,seeing those little aquilegia seedlings made me smile, you will get so many plants from those tiny seed trays. Beautiful convulvulus, but unfortunately reminds me too much of my bindweed infestation…

    • Cathy says:

      He saw the doctor again today after the x-ray – not broken and only maybe a hairline crack, so just bad bruising really. Not finished yet though – the biggest is still to come and will involve action from the other side of the hedge this time! I need to Google to find out what else can be sown now, as it is not something I have done at this time of year before. Shame about your bindweed – we have only one bed where it is present (and it is coming from our neighbour’s side 😦 ) and at least it has never got as far as flowering so it is only a minor nuisance, by my! how devious it is!

Something to say after reading this?

