Decline and Fall of a Dahlia

dahlia.goneIt’s a bit like the story of The Gingerbread Man – from the pride at the first appearance of a bud through the various stages of “Help! I am three quarters gone!”, “Help! I am half gone!” until eventually the ” Help! I am all gone! The ?????? has eaten me all up!” stage will arrive, with an appropriate substitution for ‘fox’ as the culprit of the story. In truth, I am not sure what is eating my one and only dahlia flower as this dahlia malarkey is a new experience for me – the only evidence is some tiny excrement on the petals, but never any sign of a critter. Do tell me, who is it? Whoever it is, don’t let on that there are now buds (yes, in the plural) on ‘Bishop of Llandaff’ and a singular bud on ‘Noordwijk’s Glory’,  a big orange dahlia, and perhaps it will be too short-sighted to notice….

dahlia.buds

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, pests and weeds and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Decline and Fall of a Dahlia

  1. how sad, Cathy have you been out to look for the culprit at night with torch? it’s said a lot of pest are around at night, good luck with the other two, Frances

  2. Annette says:

    How disappointing! Could it be earwigs? I know they say they’re ever so useful but they have quite an appetite too. Fingers crossed for the bishop 😉

  3. Pauline says:

    I too think it will be earwigs, lets face it, they have to leave their excrement somewhere! We have been staying in a cottage in a garden with dahlias to die for over the last week, will get up to date soon.

  4. Anna says:

    Annette and Pauline have beaten me to it – earwigs are notorious dahlia chompers 😦

Something to say after reading this?

