Productive With Produce

IMG_0111The picture shows today’s pickings, which I realise have combined to make a nice contrasting display. There have been raspberries available for picking most days since July, and last year they continued into November – where just a handful is picked I have tended to keep them in the fridge to have on my breakfast, but there are several pounds in the freezer pending a jam session or for breakfasts during the winter and spring. The tomatoes are ripening better since light levels in the greenhouse were improved by removing much of the tomato foliage, and I have kept up with tomato chutney production having made two batches this week.  We were given some damsons earlier in the week so together with some of ours I now have some damson jam, and we are currently enjoying one of my favourite bakes, apple cake. Oh, and Christmas puddings are also done and dusted, with our early family Christmas coming up in a couple of weeks!

Whilst not in the kitchen or hovering around the Golfer as he continues with the Big Plum Tree Lop I have been able to enjoy various investigative rambles around the garden in the beautiful September sunshine, accompanied by a gentle breeze and the tinkling of our various discrete windchimes. Considering how dry it has been (the earlier heatwave being almost a distant memory), the plants do not seem to have suffered – presumably the couple of brief rainy days we had were enough to replenish the dryness of the soil, but nevertheless I am trying to remember to water some of the newer acquisitions. Whilst doing so, and smiling at my momentary panic last week when I thought my Viburnum x bodnantense ‘Dawn’ was shrivelling up, I noticed with great pleasure that along with the naturally drying leaves and the autumn colours there were in fact flower buds evident, already showing their typical pinkness, and promising fragrant delights to come:

viburnum.dawn

 

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Productive With Produce

  1. Christina says:

    Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ flowers are a real sign winter is on the way. Your damsons look very attractive, I think I should plant a plum or damson as I think they are less trouble than peaches. Why an early Christmas? sorry, you mentioned it and I’m intrigued as to why!

    • Cathy says:

      I remember other bloggers showing off their viburnums in early winter last year which is why I treated myself to this one so I am looking forward to showing it off! I would say plums and damsons are pretty trouble free, just getting caught by late frosts if they have flowered early. The ‘early Christmas’ is to save my Mum having to travel from NW Scotland in winter – this is the 3rd year we have done this, sharing a Christmas meal in October, and taking turns to go up to her at the real Christmas time.

  2. you must be almost self-sufficient with fruit and jams Cathy, your garden has done very well,
    I’d thought you were aware of the disance between your mum and I, I do find it interesting though that on the mainland people would not expect the weather to be similar with people being just 20-30 miles away, yet with the highlands and islands people are often surprised by the different weather with communites up 100 miles apart, there are a lot more winds coming from the north these last couple of years and they are the problem for the change in the weather, ours hasn’t been too bad today, I hope your mum missed the gales, will she be travelling to you for the October Christmas? that’s like having 2 christmases 🙂 Frances

    • Cathy says:

      Certainly self sufficient in soft fruit and cooking apples – we don’t get through as much jam these days as we don’t have puddings on a daily basis, so most of the fruit is used for breakfasts. We are meeting in Edinburgh this year, Frances, so a straightforward journey for our mother.

  3. Anna says:

    So fascinating that the colour of the viburnum foliage is a perfect match for the emerging flower buds. Nature certainly does need the intervention of a stylist 🙂

Something to say after reading this?

