Off With the Gorgon’s Head!

IMG_0051Ignoring his bruised/cracked rib the Golfer climbed the ladder again today and cut back more of the recalcitrant cherry. As he sliced it into manageable sections with the chainsaw I happened to walk past when he was holding a chunk by the ivy which was hanging from it, looking for all it was worth like Hercules after he had chopped off the Gorgon’s head.**Alas, before I could capture this classical enactment for posterity with my camera the Gorgon’s head had been stripped of its hair and stacked with the rest of the now humbled cherry.
.
IMG_0054.

.

.

.

.

.

.IMG_0053Today we have seen more of the promised sunshine and boost of warmth that the weather forecasters had hinted at for the last few days of this week, which was all very pleasant for everybody. Taking advantage of this and finally having a couple of hours to string together in the garden I was able to put together my latest inspiration, using the big blue bowl I bought a couple of weeks ago from our local recycling centre and some of the bricks left over from building the wall – positioned in a corner of the blue & white border. I just need to wait for the mortar to dry before I scrape the bricks clean and put back the plants which were removed for their own safety. I shall then live with it for a little while before deciding whether to have anything in the bowl – currently I am pondering a solar water feature, just to provide the subtle sound of moving water.

** a retrospective apology for carelessly mixing up my Greek legends. It was Perseus who killed the Gorgon

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, projects, Recycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Off With the Gorgon’s Head!

  1. rusty duck says:

    The cherry will not bite back again!

  2. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Poor ole Cherry, having its head chopped off! 😉 I had to kill a cherry last week too. It had self-seeded from the large cherry behind us and was growing in the tier. I’d left it, rather lazily and just to see what happened. It’s clear I couldn’t leave it there as people would wonder why there’s a random tree growing… Only when I tried to pull it, it clearly has some major roots down! So I’ve chopped it, knowing it’ll likely sprout from the bottom, but that’s a hurdle I’ll cross another time.

    Btw, what shredder do you have? I could really do with one and borrowed one off my dad which is quite a big brute but doesn’t do well with the smaller branches and has a tendency to sometimes throw branches out of the blade bit which can really hurt your hand. I have so many Buddleja branches I need to get rid off that I’d like an easier option than chopping them up to get rid of them twice a year (of course I can also use it for the willows, roses etc)

    • Cathy says:

      We really dithered about getting another shredder as we had no end of problems with the last one, but in the end got a Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 (the best of the cheaper models according to Which?) and are glad that we did. it doesn’t clog easily but is readily cleared if it does and it is relatively light and not too noisy. We have a good green waste recycling collection here but sometimes there is just too much for green bin and compost heap, so even only used a few times a year a reasonably we have come to the conclusion that a decent one is probably worth it. ps I am afraid we used a chemical stump killer on the hazels we cut down and will do the same for ye olde cherry… 😦

  3. Annette says:

    Nice firewood, cherry. Do you have a woodburner? You should have been a mason in real life but then that’s what you are (among other things) :)!

  4. I have gone through everything I can think of as a reference for Gorgons and the only thing I can come up with is the movie Small Soldiers. Is that your reference or does it come from something else?

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Charlie – I am afraid I mixed up my Greek legends so I shall add an addendum to the post. The Gorgons were mythical women with snakes for hair, but it was Perseus that killed the only one of the three who was mortal. Hercules killed the Hydra which was another mythical monster, a serpent with many heads

Something to say after reading this?

