Seeing a Shrink

shrinkThe batch of eating apples stopped looking at me accusingly yesterday and became mere shadows of their former selves, drying successfully as you can see from the right hand picture, with the original 3½lbs or so has produced around ½lb of very tasty dried apple (although volume wise it might look more). I think leaving the skin on gives it an added taste and a contrast in texture, as well as adding colour,  but in future I would omit the top and bottom slices with the larger amounts of skin. As I am borrowing the dehydrator for the weekend I shall dry some cooking apples as well, but in future I shall use the Aga as of course it will not use any extra fuel.

I am in possession of a new camera which will involve some trial and error practice, and I was interested to note the different appearance of the chair in the above two pictures although light levels are rather different today and there is some shade apparent in yesterday’s picture too. I have tried some of the different settings and experimented with close-ups, which a lot of the pictures are for this blog, but today I am just going to highlight some of the goings-on in the greenhouse. The tomatoes are still ripening more slowly than last year, and it has taken nearly a fortnight for more of the Black Russians to start changing colour (top right). There is lovely truss of the ‘Lemon Tree’ tomatoes,  each fruit more than 2″ from top to tail but still resolutely green, unlike the little orange peppers which beat all of the tomatoes in the ripening stakes, and I have never before had such a large truss of what will be long red peppers as there is on the left – although they may need the banana skin trick to encourage them to ripen! I have a friend to thank for young plants of all of these, other than the Russians – but I have done the nurturing!

toms.peppers

This entry was posted in Gardens, greenhouse, In the kitchen, vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Seeing a Shrink

  1. sueturner31 says:

    we have been eating Black Russian for several weeks and I have to say that sliced in olive oil and balsamic ,with a scattering of fresh herbs,they are our favourite…

  2. rusty duck says:

    I have the same problem with the long peppers. I’d forgotten about the banana skin trick..

  3. Anna says:

    Those peppers look happy and healthy Cathy. Hope that you have fun with your new camera.

  4. I have been thinking about drying apples for some time…your post may be the nudge to get that done.

    • Cathy says:

      The eating apples were particularly successful in this dehydrator, the cookers less so as the timing is so difficult. Do have a go, and let us know how you get on – they can be done in a low oven heat too.

  5. Christina says:

    How do you use your dried apples Cathy? We have a dehydrator, a much appreciated wedding present which in the UK we used mainly for drying wild mushrooms, here I’ve tried tomatoes without much success. What else do you dry?

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Christina. I like to nibble on dried apple or chop it to go on my breakfast cereal – and you can off course rehydrate it by soaking it in water. The friend who lent me her dehydator has made savoury crackers in hers but the minimal instructions that came with have a huge list of fruit and veg that supposedly can be dried, but who would want dried cabbage or sprouts, for example?!

Something to say after reading this?

