Simmering Successes and Furtive Failures

cyclamenI wouldn’t really describe any of the less successful ventures in the garden as ‘failures’, more a learning experience, so the alliteration was for effect only!

Above left are the cyclamen I mentioned a few days ago, and I have realised since just how much they must have been seeding themselves around, which is particularly noticeable in the dense clump shown on the right. Some are a little further away from the parent plant, but they are not yet spreading far and wide, the seeds moved by ants, as Pauline at Lead up the Garden Path has described in her blog. All this without any fuss or bother, such a simple process.

Also quietly getting in what they are meant to be doing are the two honeysuckles I bought from Aldi at about this time last year, to clothe the screen that separates the woodland edge border from the right hand hot border (see map). They are doing their job admirably and allowing me to trim them back without complaint when they get a little wild and start waving themselves about. Also quietly getting on with their allotted task is this Liriope muscari ‘Monroe White’ in the ex Devil’s Plant border – I have tried liriope a few times but this is the first time I have achieved a flower spike although admittedly it is still pushing its way up quite tentatively.

honeysuckle.liriopeThere are three matching pots on the paved area which were successfully home to verbena, brachyscome and Fuchsia ‘Deep Purple’ last year and I aimed to repeat the combination this year. I included fuchsia and verbena cuttings from plug plants in my experiment earlier in the year, and when I came to plant them out in May I was amazed that only had the unprotected fuchsia from last year survived but the pots were also still full of brachyscome! The latter has continued to flourish, but the verbena cuttings have been slow getting going and I have only had flowers on one of the fuchsias and that was last year’s – mixed success, therefore, and I clearly need to take the cuttings earlier to give them a chance to bulk up more before they get planted out. The white lobelia in the left picture was also a 2012 product – amazing!

deep.purple.potsMeanwhile, while the successes have been simmering, Lysimachia ciliata ‘Firecracker’ has been furtively making a claim to take over the hot borders, establishing mats of tangled roots below the surface. Despite the slight sentiment attached to it, this being the plant whose name I had forgotten and inadvertently led me to expand my blogging horizons when a google search brought me to Patient Gardener‘s blog, I had decided a week or two ago that its days were numbered. It put up a valiant fight, but I won…

lysimachia

This entry was posted in container & basket plants, Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simmering Successes and Furtive Failures

  1. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Perhaps it’s time for me to get some Autumn Cyclamen as yours are really very pretty and me waaaaaaaants!
    Must wait, must wait. It’ll be months yet until my ‘Coum’ bloom….

    Also jealous that your Honeysuckle as retained its leaves, mine – a yellow flowering one – always drops its leaves just before it blooms. It ends up a truly ugly mess and I hate it; even if its flowers are pretty. I also have a ‘late dutch’ honeysuckle which almost makes up for the yellow’s lack.

    I find plants in pots often do well tbh, especially these annuals. For example I’ve had annual Rudbekias bloom for three years rather than one, and Nemesia has appeared again. It’s probably because pots are often near the house or protected by walls and such so the plants do survive.

    • Cathy says:

      I am definitely going to try annual rudbeckia next year after seeing them in a friend’s garden (rustic something or other), so will have a go in pots too. I apologise for the lushness of the honeysuckle and the prettyness of the cyclamen 😉 . I think the original cyclamen may be 5+ years old, so it takes time for them to begin naturalising, I think, but they seem to be on their way now. So, as soon as you have your new house……

  2. Anna says:

    Great to see plants multiplying without human intervention – your cyclamen look happy and healthy Cathy.

  3. Love your cyclamen and fuchsia, they are quite beautiful. Your pictures are very enjoyable.

  4. Pauline says:

    My ants have been busy again Cathy, more and more cyclamen where I know I didn’t plant them, one right against a tree trunk, I would never have thought of putting one there, thanks for the mention. I wage war on Lysimachia ciliata Firecracker each year, sometimes I’m successful, sometimes not, some plants ought to come with a health warning!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Pauline, I have tried restraining it in a pot in the border but it still escapes so I am pleased to have removed it before it becomes even harder to do so 😉 Lovely to have the cyclamen multiplying, isn’t it?

Something to say after reading this?

