Annabelle

CIMG1923

I walk past this hydrangea, H. arborescens ‘Annabelle,’ several times a day as it close to the start of all my rambles, but nevertheless managed to miss its first day of flowering glory for this year (unless it was, of course, only yesterday). She is certainly much happier here, in better soil and better light, after languishing in the species snowdrop border for five years or more. Her new home is also transformed, from the stomping ground of the Devil’s Plant in April:

dp…to the flourishing hedge border it is now. Not bad for four months growth:

CIMG1924

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens, herbaceous perennials and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Annabelle

  1. Cathy the new hedge border is looking good, all your hard work earlier in the year is rewarding you, Frances

  2. I love this hydrangea and she does well in my white garden.

  3. Anna says:

    Well she is my namesake after all so what else should you expect? 🙂 Your border is knitting together most well. By the way Cathy what was the ‘Devil’s Plant’? Your link does not appear to be working. I know that you have mentioned aforesaid plant before and I’m intrigued to know its identity.

    • Cathy says:

      Of course 😉 Don’t know what the problem with the link is, as I have tried several times to rectify it without success. Hopefully just a temporary glitsch. The DP was, I believe snowberry (symphocarpus) – I discovered later that our elderly neighbour thinks it’s wonderful and has dug up plantlets from elsewhere in his garden and planted them on the other side of the boundary…. It can be a prett bush, but here it was very scrubby and the roots travelled several feet away from the parent plant before sending up new shoots.

      • Anna says:

        You have my sympathies – all too familiar with the wandering suckers of the snowberry. There’s one planted near the front of our house. I should get rid of but am unable to do so as my dad gave me a small innocent plant many moons ago but did not give me any warnings about its behaviour 🙂

        • Cathy says:

          Oh Anna, are you holding on to it because your Dad gave it to you? Would he really want you to remember him as someone who innocently gave you such a thuggish plant? Just a thought…

  4. Sally says:

    Hi Cathy,
    Your yard is lovely. It looks like an old soul!
    Hydrangea is one of my favorites. I have a question…….it sounds like you moved yours after it was established for a while and it went well. We have two well established bushes that need to be moved and I’m so hesitant. Did you do it yourself or have it done professionally? Any and all advice is appreciated!
    Sally

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Sally – thanks for your kind comments. Yes, I moved it myself and also another one last year which I did not mind if it did not survive the move ( see https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/to-yank-or-not-to-yank/). If you want to move a sizeable plant I would wait till it was cooler and damper and then dig it out with as large a rootball as possible, starting to dig a foot or two away from the plant at first, then keep well watered once it has been replanted. The other one I moved was treated with no compassion at all and completely left to its own devices but it has survived!

  5. Annabelle has certainly made her mark in her new home. I did wonder what the Devil’s Plant was and found the link didn’t work either. Might it have been a snowberry?

  6. Give her time; she will grow big and luxurious in a few years, especially with lots of water. One of my favorite shrubs!

Something to say after reading this?

