Battle Zone

CIMG1887Alas, the military campaign continues, and despite lifting the edges of the liner where  exposed yesterday the water level of the stream still dropped rapidly, although perhaps not quite as quickly as before. There must therefore be a leak somewhere, but somewhere that has been somehow disturbed this year as throughout the 9 years or so since we built the stream it had never lost water as rapidly as it has done in the last couple of months – since the rat incident possibly, but it could have been before this. Knowing I had moved a witch hazel to this area in March I wondered if I had accidentally clipped the hidden pipe with my spade – unlikely, but nevertheless I exposed all the pipe from the outlet of the stream to the steps through the grass and found it went nowhere near the witch hazel.

CIMG1888That still leaves a few feet of pipe to be exposed, but in the meantime I got the Golfer to rig up a measuring device to monitor the water level in the reservoir whilst the pump is switched off. I have checked this by eye several times recently and it doesn’t seem to be an issue, but perhaps the rat had a deep-diving sibling who nibbled the liner at the bottom. Tomorrow, if it proves necessary, I shall lift that last bit of pipe – after that, who knows? With  the trenches I have been digging today it does indeed look like a battle zone!

On a happier note, the wet weather in the last couple of days has resulted in good progress on the blue-gravel-and-shell project, which should be revealed very shortly – and from the dryness of the house I have been able to admire the increasing dimensions of the apples on the stalwart cookers tree, but also on what I think is a ‘Cox’ but which has given us no apples worth picking at any time until now. Heavy pruning a couple of years ago possibly did the trick – we all like a bit of attention some time, don’t we?!

apples

This entry was posted in Art, garden structure, Gardening, Gardens, projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Battle Zone

  1. your apples look lovely Cathy, I understand your frustration with finding the leak in the stream, the more a problem eludes me the more I have to solve it! good luck, Frances

  2. tim says:

    Sorry to hear that the stream is still leaking. I can only admire your determination to get to the source of the problem. It must be so frustrating when your time could be spent on other projects. I’m looking forward to seeing your latest “blue-gravel and shell” construction. Wonderful looking apples, by the way.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for your kind comments, Tim – it will not defeat me! But you are right – there are other things I would rather be doing. The blue-gravel-and-shell project will be revealed on Thursday…

  3. croftgarden says:

    Tenacious is not the word for it, I’d hate to get in your way when you have the “bit between your teeth”. Do hope you solve the problem, the tension is getting to much for me.

    • Cathy says:

      It nearly got to me yesterday, to be honest, as I had unexpected car problems too – very unlike me. Back to normal (me, not the stream – yet!) today 🙂

  4. Annette says:

    We sure do, Cathy :). What a nuisance with the stream – and it seems quite a long one too. Hope you get to the root of it soon, good luck! And indeed your apple looks promising…here we struggle constantly with jays who pick them even before they’re ripe.

    • Cathy says:

      It will get there, all in good time (but the sooner the better!);) We have never had jays in our garden, Annette, although we do see them locally – and there are plenty of apples to spare (because there are no jays in the garden?)

Something to say after reading this?

