Fruits of My Labour

CIMG1828Expecting more rain, I went out straight after breakfast to pick raspberries and loganberries and decided to cut back the fruiting canes later that morning. There are many loganberries still on the canes, but mostly past their best and unpicked due to the heat or the rain or both, but I am more than happy with the 11lb+ already picked. As I cut them back I realised just how much the leaves had been nibbled by some unidentified critters – not had that before. Access to the first of the blackberries (these are ‘Loch Tay’) and the red and white currants are now very much easier.

cuttingcanesCanes cut and trimmed and bagged, more reparatory work done on the stream and a slow ramble around the garden later, I had accumulated photos of several new delights. Flowering for the first time in the hot border were Rudbeckia fulgida, Tagetes ‘Paprika’ (grown so successfully from seed last year and therefore a definite ‘must’ for this year too) and a rather sorrowful Calendula ‘Citrus Cocktail’, also grown from seed and a substitute for C. ‘Art Shades’ which was on my Wish List. A complete surprise is Alstroemeria ‘Saturne’ which had done nothing up to now so perhaps will make up for lost time this year.

new.hotsI have been aware of a profusion of promising buds on the Clematis jouiniana Praecox (right), which are now beginning to open in droves, not quite white but almost a pale and dirty lavender which sometimes shows up as a distinct flush, but to see what I thought was Clematis ‘Arctic Queen’ in flower was a huge shock – I have had it ostensibly growing on an obelix in the species snowdrop border for years but it has never flowered and I had no concept of what the flower was like. It had put on more healthy growth this year, and perhaps extending the border as I did once the snowdrops had finished and adding compost has given it the kickstart it needed – I am well pleased with this one! However, I now realise it is not ‘Arctic Queen’ which must be its stubby unproductive neighbour, but without another label a bit of research is required (or a knowledgable blogger…. please).

white.clematis

This entry was posted in fruit, Gardens and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fruits of My Labour

  1. Annette says:

    Who ate the leaves? Caterpillars? Yellow tailed moths? Did you ever notice any animals on the foliage? Nice harvest anyway, have to pick mine in the woods this year as bushes are still young ;).
    As for your Clematis, nice shock I’d say…could it be C. texensis x viorna KAiu or C. urophylla Winter Beauty? Guess it’s best to post another pic when it’s fully open. PS: Clematis x jouiniana is not dirty lavender (almost died with shock!) but delicate, faded violet…

    • Cathy says:

      Oops, my initial reply obviously wasn’t fit to print as it disappeared! I never saw anybody eating the leaves so I have no idea – they were certainly pretty skeletal by the time I cut them down. What will you be able to pick in your woods? On googling and checking my books and catalogues I think my clematis may be C. integrifolia Alba, which I bought in 2004 – is that possible, that it could have sulked for 9 years? I shall have to stop peppering my posts with pithy adjectives if readers are going to take exception to the words I use – are you going to take libel action to stop it happening again? It’s hard to be libellous with my tongue in my cheek 😉

      • Annette says:

        Depends on how high it grows, Cathy, as integrifolia stays smallish. And the foliage didn’t look like integrifolia to me. Freedom of speech, so fire away 😉 Have a lovely weekend!

        • Cathy says:

          It’s just winding (with a bit of help) gently round the obelix and doesn’t look as if it will grow tall – I must look at a picture of the foliage again but the flower looks right and I know I had one once! Thanks for your advice and knowledge, as always

  2. Anna says:

    I’m with Annette and think that clematis x jouiniana ‘Praecox’ is most definitely not dirty lavender Cathy 🙂 If it wasn’t dark I would inspect mine forthwith. Not sure about the mystery clematis – possibly viorna but putting my thinking cap on.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Anna – see my reply to Annette. I am sorry if I offended the pair of and hope your ‘Praecox’ didn’t wither at the mere suggestion!! 😉

  3. Yummy..I love fresh berries. Pretty flowers…my berries are devoured by the birds so quickly I barely get a taste.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Donna – it’s worth the small effort and cost of building (or buying) a fruit cage. In the early days the berries could disappear the moment they were ripe if we turned our backs for too long

Something to say after reading this?

