Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Two Days

GBFDJuly13Two days,
Just two days
Respite
From the heat.
We droop again, and
Searching for
The cooler option
We note the garden
Has no such choice.
Leaves crunch underfoot
As if already autumn,
Rhodos pant
Or put on dusty coat,
Clematis frizzle
And geranium fry,
Dicentra change leisurely
From green to gold,

GBFDJuly13.2But for others
It’s business
As usual:
Ferns,
Pulmonaria,
And hosta still display
The texture and effects
Of fine foliage,
Whilst fresh pink shoots
Burst forth from
Summer-pruned wisteria.
The garden swelters
And so do we.
Two days respite
From the heat –
It’s July,
But not as we know it
(not recently, anyhow).

On the 22nd of every month Christina of My Hesperides Garden hosts Garden Bloggers Foliage Day, with links to foliage posts from garden bloggers around the world – do take a look and see what the weather is doing to foliage in other gardens.

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Foliage day, Poetry, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Garden Bloggers Foliage Day: Two Days

  1. Christina says:

    22nd of the month not the 15th! I’m sorry you’re suffering the heat this year, last year we scorched and I almost wanted to give up gardening altogether!

    • Cathy says:

      Oops! The heat must have been getting to me – VERY humid today. Date changed – thanks for pointing it out, Christina. It does make things difficult, doesn’t it, being a gardener during a heatwave. I have succumbed to tap water for my pots this year, which I would never have allowed myself to do before

  2. islandthreads says:

    sorry some of your plants are suffering Cathy, I think you have to use tap water when all the rain water is gone, my water butts are empty so I have been using tap water too for pots and things newly planted, you have some nice foliage anyway inspite of the weather, I suppose the hostas etc. are in shady areas so have some protection from the sun, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      The hostas are shady for part of the day, like the rest of the garden, but most of them are fairly new to the pots so I am surprised they have stayed as happy. I have avoided tap water for years, Frances – but my relationship with the garden is too embedded these days to risk pots drying out, although I have still left the borders unwatered.

  3. Liz says:

    Hi Cathy,

    It looks like your garden has suffered a bit, mine mostly seems to be OK, with only a few plants having burnt leaves – mainly the dwarf Lilac I have in a pot that really could do with being potted on.

    • Cathy says:

      Missed this comment earlier Liz. Generally the borders have not actually been too bad, but it has been interesting to see which plants have suffered – strangely some of my astrantias have been quite droopy, which I wouldn’t expect. The rhododendrons which were VERY droopy perked up as soon as we had the rain yesterday, and following previous comments I have given them an extra dose of water today to encourage flowering next year. Hope your lilac survives – and that it prompted you to pot it on!

  4. Pauline says:

    Thank goodness the rain has arrived and the temperature dropped a bit, so much more pleasant outside now to garden. Like your words Cathy, its so true, we can move out of the sun, but the poor plants can’t, this is the time when we see if we have planted them in the correct place!

    • Cathy says:

      I am glad you have had some rain too, Pauline – even though it is still very warm the rain has cleared the air, refreshing things substantially and I have been able to get outside and do some worthwhile jobs again!

  5. We had a couple days respite as well…rain due here again….wishing you some better weather for your gardens.

Something to say after reading this?

