Potting On

potting.onRealising that it is the May Bank Holiday next weekend has reminded me that I usually have my baskets of trailing petunias for the front of the house planted up by now and probably already hanging: this is unlikely to be the case this year. Although my experiment with taking cuttings from plug plants has mostly been successful, I clearly need to start it much earlier next time. The cuttings (apart from petunias) I took at the end of March are well rooted and thriving as in the first picture, with flowers on two of the verbenas, and I have a second batch rooting in water in the second. The first batch of petunia cuttings rotted quickly, whilst the second lot are sitting happily in their polybags by the Aga, but still without roots, so this year I shall again be buying in plug plants for the baskets at the front.

A huge surprise on our return from Orkney were the contents of three graduated pots on the paved area, which hosted Fuchsia ‘Deep Purple’ and a dark purple verbena for many months last year – because amazingly the plants have survived the winter in all its forms and are sprouting happily (bottom right)! I had intended to bring the fuchsia inside to overwinter them but didn’t get round to it, and would never have imagined they could get through the delayed winter without protection. I had already included the fuchsia and the verbena in my rooted cutting collection, so it looks like there will be extra plants to pot up!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Potting On

  1. Every year is an experiment in living. Your results are actually quite impressive and I am going to try this next spring.

  2. well done with your cuttings Cathy, perhaps the fuchias survived in pots due to the better drainage, I’ve read and heard though no experience, it’s the standing in wet that kills more than cold, Frances

    • Cathy says:

      No rhyme or reason with the fuchsias really, Frances, as they were under snow and in extreme cold for a long time – I usually manage to neglect any other fuchsias I have in pots and they haven’t survived outside before

  3. As long as I have my current job I am not going to be starting plants from cuttings or seeds. Unfortunately I have to be always on the road from February through May.

    • Cathy says:

      I can appreciate that, Jason, as I struggled to sow any seeds on time when I was working and certainly wouldn’t have bothered with cuttings. And I definitely wouldn’t have had time to write this blog!! You will be pleased to be home based again soon?

Comments are closed.