Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: the Day After

DSCN1990

I had an appointment with Snow White yesterday, so the monthly celebration of what’s blooming in the garden is a day late: pop over to Carol’s blog at May Dreams to see more timely posts from all over the world. As always I am grateful to Carol for hosting this opportunity to share my blooms with a wider audience.

JiggetyJigRather than revisit blooms I have featured recently, like the beauties waiting for me on our return from holiday, I am focussing on the newer delights but nevertheless holding fire on many others that are still in bud but desperate to break forth with shouts of joy. The woodland view above manages to show in one view Rhododendron ‘Cheers’, the unnamed red rhododendron, wild garlic and bluebells. With the early sun and dappled light it gladdened my heart as I rambled this morning. Looking at the number of flowerheads on the wild garlic, though, I think I will have my work cut out to remove them all before they go to seed!

On the paved area, the bag of mixed dark red & purple tulips are doing a great job in the big round tub which is home to Rosa ‘Munstead Wood’, hiding the as yet flowerless bush and suggesting that some annuals in a similar colour could successfully continue this ploy once the tulips are finished. The ‘Peach Blossom’ tulips in the five very weathered pots are now in full flow, but will be over and done with before the pink wallflowers pull their socks up and show some colour.
tulippots

The Golfer commented on the Ajuga reptans ‘Multicolor’ recently, asking what it was and bringing its understated colours to to my attention yesterday as it sprawls over the edge of the rockery. Also in the rockery is this dwarf Rhododendron impedium, poised, pretty and petite:

rockery

There were not many flowers on my usual spring clematis beauty ‘Constance’, due to its enforced move last year; these two, however, have no reason to hold back and Clematis montana ‘Warwickshire Rose’ is champing at the bit throughout the magnolia, ready to follow on from the creamy pink with its own pink flowers and lovely bronze leaves. Through the bee-filled comfrey behind the blue & white borders the big buds of Clematis ‘Lord Neville’, a dark blue purple, are clearly visible. Rather than tie it into the tree stump it is planted next to I am wondering now whether to let it clamber at will.

earlyclematis

In the herbaceous borders the various perennials are clumping up nicely with this astrantia being one of the first to flower – probably ‘Shaggy’. Two surviving ‘Prince Charles’ tulips are set off nicely by the heuchera and dicentra (or whatever it is now called!), giving further encouragement to my thoughts of planting even more tulips later in the year.

herbaceousclumps

The woodland border still plays host to many hellebores, now in their muted and dryer attire, and disappearing gradually amongst the snowdrop leaves and various hardy geraniums. The pulmonaria, though, are coming into their own now, the established clumps in full flower and leaf, sitting nicely alongside the aforementioned geranium, this one being Geranium anglicum and the first to flower this year.

woodlandclumps

I wonder what will be blooming in a month’s time, in the middle of June…?

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Blooms Day, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Garden Bloggers Blooms Day: the Day After

  1. Pauline says:

    What a lot of beautiful flowers, your garden is certainly racing ahead in spite of the topsey turvey weather. Everything is also growing so quickly here and so are the weeds, I feel I will never get the better of them, but hopefully in a few weeks time, they will be no more. The bees are certainly enjoying the pulmonaria, they don’t care that they are the common one seeding everywhere!

    • Cathy says:

      Yes – lots of bees about here too, I am pleased to say. Sometimes I feel I could ramble around the garden all day, savouring every bloom and bit of greenery….

  2. Annette says:

    What’s the name of the dark burgundy tulip in the pot with Munstead Wood? Looks lovely 🙂 I’m also a lover of Clematis especially the herbaceous and species and got a delivery this week. Ground too wet at present though… don’t wonder what it’ll be like in a month, just keep enjoying 😉

    • Cathy says:

      Can’t help on the tulip, I am afraid, as they were literally a mixed bag (but only a couple of varieties, I think) and I don’t think they were named, more’s the pity. Great combination, though. I like the herbaceous clematis too, and have a couple that survived last year’s changearound – what did you have in your delivery? Can one have a surfeit of enjoying one’s garden do you think, Annette…?! 😉

      • Annette says:

        Never, Cathy, don’t worry. And as it happens -it’s quite funny really- I’m growing fonder and fonder of my plot, delighted with every daily discovery, small or great. Among the Clematis I ordered are: C. japonica, C. tubulosa Cassandra, C. viorna Elf, C. aromatica and C. mandshurica. Like them?

  3. Scott Weber says:

    Beautiful blooms…I’m a huge fan of all Astrantia…will have to look up ‘Shaggy’ next time I’m out and about in the nurseries!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Scott, thanks for popping in. ‘Shaggy’ is not too difficult to find in the UK, the flowerheads are are a little bigger than most, and as I said in the post it is easily the first of mine to flower this year, having seemingly returned from its winter sleep in next to no time.

  4. Your garden is very lush and colorful. Nice!

  5. Anna says:

    Enjoyed your May blooms Cathy. It is really a most magical time of year. Geranium anglicum is new to me. It looks as if it might be related to the phaeums of which I have one or two. Off to find out more forthwith 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Anna. G anglicum sprawls happily in the woodland edge border alongside some of the phaeums, and I have just checked in my Cranesbill Nursery catalogue and it does say ‘shade’. It came from a rather tatty garden centre next to something else we had gone to – don’t think I have seen it anywhere else but it is available from CN

Something to say after reading this?

