On the Wind

IMG_6238

Abigail may have merely waved at us but Barney certainly shook our hand very firmly, leaving a few twiggy branches around and a couple of our neighbour’s fence panels down. Any residual breeze now carries with it the delightful scent of V b ‘Dawn’ – until I had my own I didn’t quite appreciate how delightful the fragrance was although I can’t quite put my finger on what, if anything, the smell reminds me off. I think I have heard it referred to as ‘candyfloss’ which must surely have some artificial smell rather than one of its own – nothing artificial about ‘Dawn’ though! Showing off against her bobbly pink blossom is a follow-on from my November blooms day post – a bud of the Poet’s Wife, now opening delightfully and not browning into a soggy lump like some roses are prone to do in the circumstances. She also smells gorgeous, a definite citrus fragrance, and I was pleased to read ‘Which? Gardening’ recommending her highly in the recent issue.

IMG_6224Between periods of wind and rain I was able to complete my painting of the rose arbour, meaning I could then tackle existing and proposed planting around the feet of the posts. Clematis ‘Gravetye Beauty’ was rescued from its ignominious position face down in a puddle on the paved area, and retied around its post (middle post on the right) where it will get a little slate tile surround to prevent its roots being exposed. On the far right post, a flash of inspiration saw Clematis jouiniana ‘Praecox’ moved to the middle post on the left where its generous foliage can spread itself around without reducing access as it had been doing. This left climbing rose ‘New Dawn’ to climb up the post without hindrance and without being smothered in a clematis bear hug, leaving me surprised to see how much more vigourous she was than the spindly underperforming specimen I had expected.

IMG_6226Two new clematis have been waiting a few months for their allocated spots to become available – C viticella ‘Alba’ (with its lovely wavy green edges) for the far middle post and C viticella ‘Venosa Violacea’ for the ‘middle middle’. Avoiding my 2016 plant buying embargo I have a pair of ‘Crown Princess Margareta’ climbing roses on order for the two front posts – but what could go in the spot to the left of the path that I have been clearing of ivy…?

This entry was posted in garden structure, Gardening, Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On the Wind

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    I am pleased to see you managed to complete the painting despite the weather. I look forward to seeing it all in bloom in the summer.

  2. Christina says:

    It will look lovely next summer, roses and clematis are such a romantic combination.

  3. Sam says:

    That’s a very impressive arbour Cathy. Well done. It’ll be lovely to see it change as it is clothed in gorgeous blooms.

  4. homeslip says:

    Some major re-thinking going on here too. Dare I remove a 25 year old laurel and replace with an acer griseum as seen in your garden lately? The laurel is well past its best and its removal will not only give me the chance to plant another beautiful tree but I will gain all that space underneath for planting bulbs and other semi-shade loving plants. I’m finding blogging so liberating and interesting in that it offers a window into other gardener’s thought processes and you see how it is possible to take a space, shake it up a bit and come out at the end with a much improved view. Great stuff going on in your garden Cathy – well done!

    • Cathy says:

      Aw thanks Sarah – and yes, hoik the laurel out! You have already said it is past its best and after 25 years it doesn’t owe you anything – and removing it opens up so many possibilities. I have half-decided to remove the magnolia next to the rose arbour and have a smaller tree with less leaves and less shade….watch this space!

  5. Noelle says:

    Loved this post Cathy. You brought back to me just how lovely V b Dawn is. I had a fantastic specimen in my last garden…it is a joy isn’t it. Looks like you are getting ready for a fantastic year of roses and clematis next year.

  6. Anna says:

    Barney was certainly more noisy than Abigail here. ‘The Poet’s Wife’ looks rather special Cathy. I can’t help but wonder who the poet in question might be. My clematis jouiniana ‘Praecox’ looks like a nightmare at the moment. I allow it too much space for something that dies so disgracefully. Must rectify that next year.

    • Cathy says:

      Oh Poet’s wife is going to become a real favourite, Anna – it has TWO gorgeous blooms now, even after a very cold weekend. I think we can forgive C j P its disgraceful autumn behaviour when it scrubs up so well come the spring, don’t you?!

  7. I do like the look of your new, for want of a better word, erection. Such a lovely colour. I have no idea how you managed to get it painted this week, our weather was dreadful. I can just imagine how it is going to look in Summer 2016 covered in blooms 🙂 Great job!

    • Cathy says:

      Just made sure my overalls, brush and paint were at hand for those drier periods! Thanks Dorris – it will be good to see the new blooms next year, but hopefully the existing plants will have a new lease of life too.

Comments are closed.